Log In
COMMENTS0

MLB

Player Stats - Justin Upton - Detroit

MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#8
Justin Upton
AVG HR RBI
.251 26 81
Team: DetroitHt / Wt: 6-2 / 205 NFBC ADP: 51.33
Position: LFBorn: 8/25/1987 Birthplace: Norfolk, Virginia
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Diamondbacks (2005)


Latest News
Jan. 20 1:27 PM PT2:27 PM MT3:27 PM CT4:27 PM ET16:27 ET21:27 GMT5:27 2:27 PM MST4:27 PM EST4:57 PM VEN1:27 UAE (+1)3:27 PM CT-The Tigers have finalized their $132.75 million, six-year contract with the free-agent Upton.
Analysis: The Tigers introduced Upton at a news conference Wednesday. The 28-year-old gives Detroit another powerful bat in the middle of the lineup and fills a need in left field after Detroit dealt slugger Yoenis Cespedes at the deadline last year. Upton hit .251 with 26 homers and 81 RBIs for the San Diego Padres last season.
Jan. 19 10:33 PM PT11:33 PM MT12:33 AM CT1:33 AM ET1:33 ET6:33 GMT14:33 11:33 PM MST1:33 AM EST2:03 AM VEN10:33 UAE12:33 AM CT-Upton has agreed to a six-year, $132.75 million contract with the Detroit Tigers, a person with knowledge of the deal told the Associated Press.
Analysis: Upton, who's hit at least 29 home runs in each of the last three seasons, adds another power bat to the Tigers' lineup and should fill the void left by left fielder Yoenis Cespedes' departure midway through last season. The 28-year-old had 26 homers and 81 RBIs while batting .255 with San Diego in 2015. According to the source, Upton can opt out of the contract after two seasons.
Nov. 6 4:10 PM PT5:10 PM MT6:10 PM CT7:10 PM ET19:10 ET0:10 GMT8:10 5:10 PM MST7:10 PM EST7:40 PM VEN4:10 UAE (+1)6:10 PM CT-The San Diego Padres have made qualifying offers to slugger Justin Upton and right-hander Ian Kennedy. The players have until Nov. 13 to accept or reject the offer, which equals a $15.8 million, one-year deal.
Analysis: Upton was acquired during general manager A.J. Preller's shopping spree in December. He led the Padres with 26 home runs and had 81 RBIs.
Oct. 1 11:07 PM PT12:07 AM MT1:07 AM CT2:07 AM ET2:07 ET6:07 GMT14:07 11:07 PM MST1:07 AM EST1:37 AM VEN10:07 UAE1:07 AM CT-Upton passed tests, including one for a concussion, but likely won't play in Sunday's season finale against the Dodgers.
Analysis: Upton left Wednesday's game against Milwaukee after running headfirst into the wall. "He was checked out and everything looks fine," Padres interim manager Pat Murphy said. "Nothing major. A neck strain."
Sep. 21 2:38 PM PT3:38 PM MT4:38 PM CT5:38 PM ET17:38 ET21:38 GMT5:38 2:38 PM MST4:38 PM EST5:08 PM VEN1:38 UAE (+1)4:38 PM CT-Upton was 3 for 5 with two doubles and three RBIs on Sunday.
Analysis: Upton is 8 for 16 in his last four.
Sep. 16 3:32 PM PT4:32 PM MT5:32 PM CT6:32 PM ET18:32 ET22:32 GMT6:32 3:32 PM MST5:32 PM EST6:02 PM VEN2:32 UAE (+1)5:32 PM CT-Upton was 3 for 4 with his 26th home run Tuesday against the Diamondbacks.
Analysis: Upton owns a .894 OPS since the All-Star break compared to a .753 mark before it.
Sep. 4 3:56 PM PT4:56 PM MT5:56 PM CT6:56 PM ET18:56 ET22:56 GMT6:56 3:56 PM MST5:56 PM EST6:26 PM VEN2:56 UAE (+1)5:56 PM CT-Upton went 3 for 3 with two doubles and drove in a run in a 10-7 win over the Los Angeles Dodgers on Thursday.
Analysis: Upton has five hits in his last two games after going 3 for 24 in his previous six.
Aug. 27 1:06 PM PT2:06 PM MT3:06 PM CT4:06 PM ET16:06 ET20:06 GMT4:06 1:06 PM MST3:06 PM EST3:36 PM VEN0:06 UAE (+1)3:06 PM CT-Upton hit a pair of homers and drove in three runs in a 6-5 win over Washington on Wednesday.
Analysis: Upton, batting .258, is 6 for 18 with five extra-base hits and five RBIs in his last four games. He hadn't homered, though, in any of his previous 12. Upton has a team-best 22 longballs and has surpassed 20 for a third consecutive year.
Aug. 11 3:56 PM PT4:56 PM MT5:56 PM CT6:56 PM ET18:56 ET22:56 GMT6:56 3:56 PM MST5:56 PM EST6:26 PM VEN2:56 UAE (+1)5:56 PM CT-Upton hit his second home run in as many days and his 20th of the season on Monday during a 2-1 win over Cincinnati.
Analysis: Upton now has a four-game hitting streak, and he's batting .333 in his last seven.
July 19 3:13 PM PT4:13 PM MT5:13 PM CT6:13 PM ET18:13 ET22:13 GMT6:13 3:13 PM MST5:13 PM EST5:43 PM VEN2:13 UAE (+1)5:13 PM CT-Upton exited in the fifth inning Sunday against Colorado because of back tightness.
Analysis: San Diego said Upton was removed as a precautionary measure with inclement weather in the area.
June 25 1:55 PM PT2:55 PM MT3:55 PM CT4:55 PM ET16:55 ET20:55 GMT4:55 1:55 PM MST3:55 PM EST4:25 PM VEN0:55 UAE (+1)3:55 PM CT-Upton was 2 for 4 with a steal on Wednesday.
Analysis: Upton has been a dud in June with a .192 average though he has 15 walks in 22 games so pitchers still think he is dangerous for some strange reason.
June 1 1:54 PM PT2:54 PM MT3:54 PM CT4:54 PM ET16:54 ET20:54 GMT4:54 1:54 PM MST3:54 PM EST4:24 PM VEN0:54 UAE (+1)3:54 PM CT-Upton singled three times Sunday versus Pittsburgh.
Analysis: Upton is 14 for 31 during an eight-game hitting streak.
May 29 1:27 PM PT2:27 PM MT3:27 PM CT4:27 PM ET16:27 ET20:27 GMT4:27 1:27 PM MST3:27 PM EST3:57 PM VEN0:27 UAE (+1)3:27 PM CT-Upton was 2 for 3 with his 37th RBI Thursday against the Pirates.
Analysis: Upton has hit safely in five straight, going 9 for 19 with eight RBIs and three walks.
May 28 3:22 PM PT4:22 PM MT5:22 PM CT6:22 PM ET18:22 ET22:22 GMT6:22 3:22 PM MST5:22 PM EST5:52 PM VEN2:22 UAE (+1)5:22 PM CT-Upton was 2 for 4 and recorded his 36th RBI Wednesday against the Angels.
Analysis: Upton is 13 for 37 (.351) with 11 RBIs in his last 10 contests.
May 25 4:38 PM PT5:38 PM MT6:38 PM CT7:38 PM ET19:38 ET23:38 GMT7:38 4:38 PM MST6:38 PM EST7:08 PM VEN3:38 UAE (+1)6:38 PM CT-Upton was 2 for 4 with a home run, double and six RBIs in Sunday's win over the Dodgers.
Analysis: Upton has four homers and 10 RBIs in seven games.
May 11 1:56 PM PT2:56 PM MT3:56 PM CT4:56 PM ET16:56 ET20:56 GMT4:56 1:56 PM MST3:56 PM EST4:26 PM VEN0:56 UAE (+1)3:56 PM CT-Upton was 2 for 4 in Sunday's loss to Arizona.
Analysis: In 10 games this month, Upton is hitting .368 with 10 RBIs.
May 10 5:23 PM PT6:23 PM MT7:23 PM CT8:23 PM ET20:23 ET0:23 GMT8:23 5:23 PM MST7:23 PM EST7:53 PM VEN4:23 UAE (+1)7:23 PM CT-Upton hit his eighth homer of the season Saturday.
Analysis: Upton now has 24 RBIs and 23 runs through 31 games.
May 4 3:03 PM PT4:03 PM MT5:03 PM CT6:03 PM ET18:03 ET22:03 GMT6:03 3:03 PM MST5:03 PM EST5:33 PM VEN2:03 UAE (+1)5:03 PM CT-Upton went 3 for 4 with a home run and three RBIs against Colorado on Sunday.
Analysis: Upton was 7 for 12 with seven RBIs over the three-game series.
May 2 6:28 PM PT7:28 PM MT8:28 PM CT9:28 PM ET21:28 ET1:28 GMT9:28 6:28 PM MST8:28 PM EST8:58 PM VEN5:28 UAE (+1)8:28 PM CT-Upton appears to be out of his funk after going 3 for 4 with two RBIs in Friday's 14-3 win over Colorado.
Analysis: Upton had been 5 for 32 (.156) with six RBIs over his previous nine games.
Apr. 26 1:15 PM PT2:15 PM MT3:15 PM CT4:15 PM ET16:15 ET20:15 GMT4:15 1:15 PM MST3:15 PM EST3:45 PM VEN0:15 UAE (+1)3:15 PM CT-Upton went 2 for 3 with two home runs and five RBIs in Saturday's 11-8 loss to the Dodgers.
Analysis: Upton appears to be on track after going 5 for 26 with one extra-base hit over his previous seven games.
Apr. 19 9:47 PM PT10:47 PM MT11:47 PM CT12:47 AM ET0:47 ET4:47 GMT12:47 9:47 PM MST11:47 PM EST12:17 AM VEN8:47 UAE11:47 PM CT-Upton strained his quad Saturday during a loss to the upstart Cubs.
Analysis: He is day to day.
Apr. 9 3:43 PM PT4:43 PM MT5:43 PM CT6:43 PM ET18:43 ET22:43 GMT6:43 3:43 PM MST5:43 PM EST6:13 PM VEN2:43 UAE (+1)5:43 PM CT-Upton delivered a towering two-run homer off Brandon McCarthy in Wednesday's 7-4 loss to the Dodgers.
Analysis: Upton has gone 1 for 4 in each of the first three games with three RBIs and just one run scored.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2007 Ari 43 140 17 31 8 3 2 11 11 37 2 0 .221 .283 .364
2008 Ari 108 356 52 89 19 6 15 42 54 121 1 4 .250 .353 .463
2009 Ari 138 526 84 158 30 7 26 86 55 137 20 5 .300 .366 .532
2010 Ari 133 495 73 135 27 3 17 69 64 152 18 8 .273 .356 .442
2011 Ari 159 592 105 171 39 5 31 88 59 126 21 9 .289 .369 .529
2012 Ari 150 554 107 155 24 4 17 67 63 121 18 8 .280 .355 .430
2013 Atl 149 558 94 147 27 2 27 70 75 161 8 1 .263 .354 .464
2014 Atl 154 566 77 153 34 2 29 102 60 171 8 4 .270 .342 .491
2015 SD 150 542 85 136 26 3 26 81 68 159 19 5 .251 .336 .454
Career 1184 4329 694 1175 234 35 190 616 509 1185 115 44 .271 .352 .473

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2007 Ari Total 6 14 2 5 1 1 0 1 3 3 1 0 .357 .526 .571
    LDS 2 5 2 3 0 0 0 1 3 0 1 0 .600 .750 .600
    LCS 4 9 0 2 1 1 0 0 0 3 0 0 .222 .364 .556
2011 Ari Total 5 20 3 4 0 0 2 3 3 6 0 0 .200 .304 .500
    LDS 5 20 3 4 0 0 2 3 3 6 0 0 .200 .304 .500
2013 Atl Total 4 14 2 2 1 0 0 0 4 4 0 0 .143 .333 .214
    LDS 4 14 2 2 1 0 0 0 4 4 0 0 .143 .333 .214
Career 15 48 7 11 2 1 2 4 10 13 1 0 .229 .383 .438


w9 © 2016 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.