MLB

Player Stats - James Paxton - Seattle

MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#65
James Paxton
ERA W-L K
3.85 11-6 199
Team: SeattleHt / Wt: 6-4 / 220
Position: SPBorn: 11/6/1988 Birthplace: Ladner, Canada
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 4th Round by Mariners (2010)


Latest News
Sep. 25 10:18 PM PT11:18 PM MT12:18 AM CT1:18 AM ET1:18 ET5:18 GMT13:18 10:18 PM MST12:18 AM EST11:18 PM CST12:48 AM VEN9:18 UAE12:18 AM CT-James Paxton allowed two runs on three hits in 4.0 innings as the Seattle Mariners lost to the Oakland Athletics 7-3 on Monday. Paxton struck out five, ending the game with a 3.85 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 12 1:05 PM PT2:05 PM MT3:05 PM CT4:05 PM ET16:05 ET20:05 GMT4:05 1:05 PM MST3:05 PM EST2:05 PM CST3:35 PM VEN0:05 UAE (+1)3:05 PM CT-Paxton, who is battling pneumonia and flu, will start Monday against the A's.
Analysis: Paxton (11-6, 3.83 ERA) last pitched on Sept. 7 and will likely be limited to 70-75 pitches.
Sep. 8 9:46 PM PT10:46 PM MT11:46 PM CT12:46 AM ET0:46 ET4:46 GMT12:46 9:46 PM MST11:46 PM EST10:46 PM CST12:16 AM VEN8:46 UAE11:46 PM CT-James Paxton fell to 11-6, allowing four runs on five hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Seattle Mariners lost to the New York Yankees 4-0 on Friday. Paxton struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.83 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 2 9:43 PM PT10:43 PM MT11:43 PM CT12:43 AM ET0:43 ET4:43 GMT12:43 9:43 PM MST11:43 PM EST10:43 PM CST12:13 AM VEN8:43 UAE11:43 PM CT-James Paxton improved to 11-5, allowing three runs on two hits and four walks in 5.0 innings, as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Oakland Athletics 8-7 on Saturday. Paxton struck out 10, ending the game with a 3.74 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 14 7:46 PM PT8:46 PM MT9:46 PM CT10:46 PM ET22:46 ET2:46 GMT10:46 7:46 PM MST9:46 PM EST8:46 PM CST10:16 PM VEN6:46 UAE (+1)9:46 PM CT-Paxton (left forearm contusion) has been activated to return to the rotation Saturday in Oakland.
Analysis: Paxton (10-5, 3.68 ERA) has been sidelined since being hit by a line drive in his left arm at Oakland on Aug. 14.
Aug. 9 8:50 PM PT9:50 PM MT10:50 PM CT11:50 PM ET23:50 ET3:50 GMT11:50 8:50 PM MST10:50 PM EST9:50 PM CST11:20 PM VEN7:50 UAE (+1)10:50 PM CT-James Paxton improved to 10-5, allowing four runs on seven hits and three walks in 5.2 innings, as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Houston Astros 8-6 on Thursday. Paxton struck out five, ending the game with a 3.63 ERA and 1.09 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 5 9:49 PM PT10:49 PM MT11:49 PM CT12:49 AM ET0:49 ET4:49 GMT12:49 9:49 PM MST11:49 PM EST10:49 PM CST12:19 AM VEN8:49 UAE11:49 PM CT-James Paxton fell to 9-5, allowing three runs on eight hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Seattle Mariners lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 5-1 on Saturday. Paxton struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.51 ERA and 1.07 WHIP on the season.
July 31 9:35 PM PT10:35 PM MT11:35 PM CT12:35 AM ET0:35 ET4:35 GMT12:35 9:35 PM MST11:35 PM EST10:35 PM CST12:05 AM VEN8:35 UAE11:35 PM CT-James Paxton improved to 9-4, allowing three hits over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Houston Astros 2-0 on Monday. Paxton struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.49 ERA and 1.05 WHIP on the season.
July 13 10:03 PM PT11:03 PM MT12:03 AM CT1:03 AM ET1:03 ET5:03 GMT13:03 10:03 PM MST12:03 AM EST11:03 PM CST12:33 AM VEN9:03 UAE12:03 AM CT-Paxton (back) has been activated from the the DL to start Monday against the Astros.
Analysis: Paxton was to be activated this past Tuesday, but his troublesome back stiffened up on him following a bullpen session a few days earlier. The ace lefty reported no problems, however, after throwing a 32-pitch session on Friday. The Mariners are going to need a healthy Paxton for the stretch run as well as the playoffs if they're able to qualify.
July 7 4:07 PM PT5:07 PM MT6:07 PM CT7:07 PM ET19:07 ET23:07 GMT7:07 4:07 PM MST6:07 PM EST5:07 PM CST6:37 PM VEN3:07 UAE (+1)6:07 PM CT-James Paxton fell to 8-3, allowing four runs on seven hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Seattle Mariners lost to the Colorado Rockies 5-1 on Saturday. Paxton struck out nine, ending the game with a 3.49 ERA and 1.07 WHIP on the season.
July 1 3:15 PM PT4:15 PM MT5:15 PM CT6:15 PM ET18:15 ET22:15 GMT6:15 3:15 PM MST5:15 PM EST4:15 PM CST5:45 PM VEN2:15 UAE (+1)5:15 PM CT-James Paxton improved to 8-2, allowing two hits and two walks over 8.0 scoreless innings, as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Kansas City Royals 1-0 on Sunday. Paxton struck out 11, ending the game with a 3.39 ERA and 1.07 WHIP on the season.
June 26 6:53 PM PT7:53 PM MT8:53 PM CT9:53 PM ET21:53 ET1:53 GMT9:53 6:53 PM MST8:53 PM EST7:53 PM CST9:23 PM VEN5:53 UAE (+1)8:53 PM CT-James Paxton improved to 7-2, allowing two runs on six hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Baltimore Orioles 3-2 on Tuesday. Paxton struck out 10, ending the game with a 3.65 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
June 21 1:04 PM PT2:04 PM MT3:04 PM CT4:04 PM ET16:04 ET20:04 GMT4:04 1:04 PM MST3:04 PM EST2:04 PM CST3:34 PM VEN0:04 UAE (+1)3:04 PM CT-James Paxton fell to 6-2, allowing four runs on seven hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the Seattle Mariners lost to the New York Yankees 4-3 on Thursday. Paxton struck out nine, ending the game with a 3.72 ERA and 1.12 WHIP on the season.
June 16 10:24 PM PT11:24 PM MT12:24 AM CT1:24 AM ET1:24 ET5:24 GMT13:24 10:24 PM MST12:24 AM EST11:24 PM CST12:54 AM VEN9:24 UAE12:24 AM CT-James Paxton allowed six runs - five earned - on six hits and one walk in 2.1 innings as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Boston Red Sox 7-6 on Friday. Paxton struck out four, ending the game with a 3.44 ERA and 1.06 WHIP on the season.
June 10 1:02 PM PT2:02 PM MT3:02 PM CT4:02 PM ET16:02 ET20:02 GMT4:02 1:02 PM MST3:02 PM EST2:02 PM CST3:32 PM VEN0:02 UAE (+1)3:02 PM CT-James Paxton improved to 6-1, allowing three runs on five hits in 7.0 innings, as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 5-4 on Sunday. Paxton struck out 10, ending the game with a 3.02 ERA and 1.01 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Paxton registered a ninth consecutive quality start, a stretch in which he's 5-0 with a 1.98 ERA and has struck out 77 over 63 2/3 innings. The standout lefty gets a challenging assignment next time out, though, as he takes on the Red Sox in Seattle on Friday.
June 5 7:43 PM PT8:43 PM MT9:43 PM CT10:43 PM ET22:43 ET2:43 GMT10:43 7:43 PM MST9:43 PM EST8:43 PM CST10:13 PM VEN6:43 UAE (+1)9:43 PM CT-James Paxton improved to 5-1, allowing one run on nine hits and one walk in 7.2 innings, as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Houston Astros 7-1 on Tuesday. Paxton struck out six, ending the game with a 2.95 ERA and 1.03 WHIP on the season.
May 31 10:31 PM PT11:31 PM MT12:31 AM CT1:31 AM ET1:31 ET5:31 GMT13:31 10:31 PM MST12:31 AM EST11:31 PM CST1:01 AM VEN9:31 UAE12:31 AM CT-James Paxton allowed two runs on four hits and four walks in 5.0 innings as the Seattle Mariners lost to the Texas Rangers 7-6 on Wednesday. Paxton struck out five, ending the game with a 3.13 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
May 26 9:29 PM PT10:29 PM MT11:29 PM CT12:29 AM ET0:29 ET4:29 GMT12:29 9:29 PM MST11:29 PM EST10:29 PM CST11:59 PM VEN8:29 UAE11:29 PM CT-James Paxton improved to 4-1, allowing one run on three hits in 7.0 innings, as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Minnesota Twins 2-1 on Friday. Paxton struck out 11, ending the game with a 3.10 ERA and 0.96 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: In four of his five starts this month, Paxton has pitched at least seven innings. He has a pair of complete games, including the first no-hitter of his career, and has allowed a combined five earned runs in 38 innings with 46 strikeouts.
May 19 8:47 PM PT9:47 PM MT10:47 PM CT11:47 PM ET23:47 ET3:47 GMT11:47 8:47 PM MST10:47 PM EST9:47 PM CST11:17 PM VEN7:47 UAE (+1)10:47 PM CT-James Paxton improved to 3-1, allowing two runs on three hits and one walk in 9.0 innings, as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Detroit Tigers 7-2 on Saturday. Paxton struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.30 ERA and 1.02 WHIP on the season.
May 13 1:12 PM PT2:12 PM MT3:12 PM CT4:12 PM ET16:12 ET20:12 GMT4:12 1:12 PM MST3:12 PM EST2:12 PM CST3:42 PM VEN0:12 UAE (+1)3:12 PM CT-James Paxton allowed three runs on six hits in 6.0 innings as the Seattle Mariners lost to the Detroit Tigers 5-4 on Sunday. Paxton struck out four, ending the game with a 3.52 ERA and 1.12 WHIP on the season.
May 8 6:31 PM PT7:31 PM MT8:31 PM CT9:31 PM ET21:31 ET1:31 GMT9:31 6:31 PM MST8:31 PM EST7:31 PM CST9:01 PM VEN5:31 UAE (+1)8:31 PM CT-James Paxton improved to 2-1, allowing zero hits and three walks in a complete-game shutout, as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 5-0 on Tuesday. Paxton struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.40 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: He's 2-0 with a 2.51 ERA over seven starts since the bird stuck its talons into his back before the Minnesota Twins' home opener. This was the sixth no-hitter for the Mariners franchise, and the first since Hisashi Iwakuma did it against Baltimore in 2015. Felix Hernandez threw a perfect game in 2012, and Randy Johnson tossed Seattle's first no-hitter in 1990.
May 3 9:39 PM PT10:39 PM MT11:39 PM CT12:39 AM ET0:39 ET4:39 GMT12:39 9:39 PM MST11:39 PM EST10:39 PM CST12:09 AM VEN8:39 UAE11:39 PM CT-James Paxton allowed five hits and one walk without giving up a run in 7.0 innings as the Seattle Mariners lost to the Oakland Athletics 3-2 on Wednesday. Paxton struck out 16, ending the game with a 4.19 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Paxton was overpowering in arguably the finest performance of his career, posting the highest strikeout total by a Seattle pitcher since Randy Johnson fanned 19 on Aug. 8, 1997. He got 14 A's on swinging strikeouts.
Apr. 26 5:59 PM PT6:59 PM MT7:59 PM CT8:59 PM ET20:59 ET0:59 GMT8:59 5:59 PM MST7:59 PM EST6:59 PM CST8:29 PM VEN4:59 UAE (+1)7:59 PM CT-James Paxton allowed two runs on five hits and three walks in 6.0 innings as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Cleveland Indians 5-4 on Thursday. Paxton struck out 10, ending the game with a 5.12 ERA and 1.42 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 22 10:03 PM PT11:03 PM MT12:03 AM CT1:03 AM ET1:03 ET5:03 GMT13:03 10:03 PM MST12:03 AM EST11:03 PM CST12:33 AM VEN9:03 UAE12:03 AM CT-James Paxton allowed five runs on six hits and three walks in 4.0 innings as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Texas Rangers 9-7 on Saturday. Paxton struck out six, ending the game with a 5.61 ERA and 1.44 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 17 9:34 PM PT10:34 PM MT11:34 PM CT12:34 AM ET0:34 ET4:34 GMT12:34 9:34 PM MST11:34 PM EST10:34 PM CST12:04 AM VEN8:34 UAE11:34 PM CT-James Paxton improved to 1-1, allowing one run on three hits and three walks in 6.0 innings, as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Houston Astros 2-1 on Monday. Paxton struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.57 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 11 2:05 PM PT3:05 PM MT4:05 PM CT5:05 PM ET17:05 ET21:05 GMT5:05 2:05 PM MST4:05 PM EST3:05 PM CST4:35 PM VEN1:05 UAE (+1)4:05 PM CT-James Paxton allowed two runs on six hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Kansas City Royals 4-2 on Wednesday. Paxton struck out 10, ending the game with a 5.74 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 5 4:27 PM PT5:27 PM MT6:27 PM CT7:27 PM ET19:27 ET23:27 GMT7:27 4:27 PM MST6:27 PM EST5:27 PM CST6:57 PM VEN3:27 UAE (+1)6:27 PM CT-James Paxton allowed two runs on four hits and one walk in 5.0 innings as the Seattle Mariners lost to the Minnesota Twins 4-2 on Thursday. Paxton struck out seven, ending the game with a 7.45 ERA and 1.55 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 31 4:01 PM PT5:01 PM MT6:01 PM CT7:01 PM ET19:01 ET23:01 GMT7:01 4:01 PM MST6:01 PM EST5:01 PM CST6:31 PM VEN3:01 UAE (+1)6:01 PM CT-James Paxton fell to 0-1, allowing six runs on six hits and four walks in 4.2 innings, as the Seattle Mariners lost to the Cleveland Indians 6-5 on Saturday. Paxton struck out four, ending the game with an 11.57 ERA and 2.14 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2013 Sea 3 0 0 - 0 4 4 0 24.0 15 5 4 2 7 2 21 0.92 1.50
2014 Sea 6 4 0 - 0 13 13 0 74.0 60 29 25 3 29 2 59 1.20 3.04
2015 Sea 3 4 0 - 0 13 13 0 67.0 67 34 29 8 29 1 56 1.43 3.90
2016 Sea 6 7 0 - 0 20 20 0 121.0 134 62 51 9 24 3 117 1.31 3.79
2017 Sea 12 5 0 - 0 24 24 0 136.0 113 47 45 9 37 1 156 1.10 2.98
2018 Sea 11 6 0 - 0 27 27 2 154.1 127 66 66 23 42 0 199 1.10 3.85
Career 41 26 0 - 0 101 101 2 576.1 516 243 220 54 168 9 608 1.19 3.44

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 Sea 4 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 1 0 0 .000 .500 .000
2014 Sea 13 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2015 Sea 13 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2016 Sea 20 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 3 0 0 .000 .250 .000
Career 101 7 1 0 0 0 0 0 2 7 0 0 .000 .222 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1597 100 91 95.3 63.7
Curveball 542 85 76 81.1 21.62
Slider 357 92 86 89 14.24
Changeup 11 89 84 86.5 .44

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2018 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.